Riverwalk- like riverdance but less Irish

What do I say about San Antonio? It’s like a much prettier El Paso, with clearer air and definitely more water. I hadn’t been to the Riverwalk since I was a kid, so it was like seeing it all for the first time again. The guy turned 30 this month, so we went down to celebrate a little and spend some time together. He’s been working too hard and I’ve been…well, I’ve been working hard too.

We wandered around, looked at the fake Alamo- did you know they rebuilt it after it was destroyed, it’s not even the real thing! I felt kind of gypped, but I’ve never been a history museum type of person. I’ll walk right by to go listen to some music or check out art, but Texas history just doesn’t do much for me. Yep, Mexicans, yep, Texas Rangers, cowboys and Indians. And what’s-his-face Davy Crockett was found hiding under a bed I heard…which is why I tend to discredit stories from history that were written by the forces left in power- which happens to be a large part of them. The grounds are beautiful, and the shady trees and landscaping hide the fact that you’re right in the middle of downtown surrounded by tons of tourists.

Nathan is pissed that it's fake too

Nathan is pissed that it's fake too

We were in town on a Dallas Cowboys training weekend, so there were lots of people lined up for hours in the hot sun hoping to catch a glimpse of the big guys. I was not one of them, but it would have been cool. I am a long-time Dallas fan, even though I’m just barely becoming a fan of the actual state of Texas. I guess I always had a thing for cowboys as a girl…Instead I watched them from our 28-th floor Marriott room.

No don't look at the ghost in the window

No don't look at the ghost in the window

We did the couple thing, wandered in circles around the waterways and watching the flatboat tours and held hands for a few minutes (too sweaty ick). I wanted to tell the tourists in the boat could walk the whole thing faster and that we’d probably beat them to the end of the tour but people don’t walk these days anyway. That’s called exercising.

No trolls under there. Only on top.

No trolls under there. Only on top.

 

Nathan's "leaning on the rail" pose

Nathan's "leaning on the rail" pose

We ate, we drank. It was good. It felt like we were traveling, and that was good enough. Economy, blah blah, staycation, blah. We’re broke, and weekend excursions are gonna have to cut it for a while. Until we buy our Airstream and hit the road like old times. I’m thinking that isn’t too far away.

I'm flying away

I'm flying away

Riverwalk at night

Riverwalk at night

4 responses to “Riverwalk- like riverdance but less Irish

  1. someone is trying to convince me to move to san antonio, that some parts are old and interesting and hip. true? i lived in austin for 3 years. might move back there.

    • In comparison to Austin, I have to say San Antonio just doesn’t measure up. It’s a cool city in its own right, but in my opinion not quite there yet. The missions are beautiful, the history is great, but as far as nightlife and a “young” atmosphere like Austin, you’ll find yourself wanting to move north an hour! Also- love your pics, I spent a little while on your blog 😉

Leave a Reply

