Fame…or what I’ll do for it and money

Fading youth. Am I supposed to be thinking about this before I even hit 30? Of course not, my mind says, but surreptitiously I’m always looking for a sag or a line. Actually, I’ve been terrified of getting older since before I turned 10. I knew the double digits were forever once I’d past the big one-oh. Maybe that’s why I’ve been doing more runway shows and random modeling events.

 

Austin is a good place for this kind of thing, with its burgeoning fashion scene and lots of hipsters who think they’re fashion aficionados. Mostly, though, Austin fashion consists of scraggly beards “too cool for school” and skirts and cowboy boots. Not that there’s anything wrong with any of it. It’s just—well, it’s not Milan and that’s why we live here.

 

The first one I participated in was the Summer Sizzle fashion show at Antone’s, one of the legendary live music venues in Austin and always booked with the acts you wanna see. It’s a great place to see the blues happen, and the likes of U2, Elvis Costello, and Muddy Waters have been known to play here. www.antones.net

 

The 'Fro

The 'Fro

Work it, work it

Work it, work it

I modeled for a local designer, Charles Ferraro of the GAT5 artist collective. I had some super frizzy afro-hair and free drinks, and also got to carry a pink crowbar around. Kickass.

 

Two weekends ago I spent a day at the Long Center for the first Austin Fashion Week awards show. This consisted of sitting around all day from 9 am til 8-ish, getting hair and makeup and making vapid conversation for the most part. I was glad I brought a book…and I left feeling fat and short compared to all the girls that should be runway models. I definitely felt like an odd girl out, but then I realized most of the other girls were probably feeling the same way. Models, designers, and hairdressers are not typically the most friendly people you’ll ever meet. However, Kayne from Project Runway and the designer I modeled for, Marketa Pokorney, were pretty sweet. I talked to Kayne a bit and told him how much I liked his flashy prom dresses. I guess he got kicked off the show for liking flash too much, but sometimes the gays on that show don’t know what they’re talking about. There’s a place for that kind of thing. The after-party was cool too, on top of the AMLI building in downtown Austin. Lots of free food and drinks, and a cool breeze funneling right through the pool area made the night that much better. I couldn’t help but dream about living in one of these condos. What a different life it would be…and I don’t know if it would work for me. Fun to think about though. The next day I was all over the news, in several newscasts and photos on Austin360.com and other sites. I’d appreciate publicity any other time…but the hair and makeup were a disaster and NOT something I wanted to see again.

 

On stage with the designer during the fashion show

On stage with the designer during the fashion show

Feed those girls a burger

Feed those girls a burger

 

 

 

 

 

Walkin' the red carpet...

Walkin' the red carpet...

And this weekend—a first! I was paid to be a living statue for 5 straight hours. Have you ever tried to stand perfectly still for 5 hours? I had to thank my yoga and meditation practice for making this possible. It was an interesting experience. One old douche tried to grab my ass, and mostly old people took pictures of me and tried to make me laugh. The convention I did this for was something called the Woodmen—apparently a fraternal order of insurance salesman?? Who knew. I’d never heard “Honey, do you want to make a picture with me?” before, but every damn one of them said it. “Make” a picture?? That’s gotta be a Southern thing- most of these people were from Tennessee, Arkansas, or Virginia it seemed like.

 

Little Miss Muffet looks retarded

Little Miss Muffet looks retarded

Enough modeling and fame for the summer.  (I hope you recognize sarcasm, dear reader.) I’m ready for the unpretentious freedom of Burning Man.

The Thunderdome- 2007

The Thunderdome- 2007

One response to “Fame…or what I’ll do for it and money

  1. I think your hair looks HOT! Dont ever move into one of those condos…..

Leave a Reply

